Tuesday, August 27, 2013

20 Years of Learning

0 Comments



20 Years (Wait. What?!)

Check out my first class of first and second graders. 

Back then I was Ms. Brandt.

Seems like yesterday.

I still remember all of their names and their sweet little personalities. 
They were so smart, affectionate and creative! 
I learned a lot from them.

[click photos to enlarge]

Luckily, I had many of those cuties again in fifth grade when I changed grades...


Just look at those happy faces.

The Class of 1993...
and 1996.

Now they have successful careers.
Many are in graduate school.
Others have families of their own.
Firemen, teachers, bankers, nurses, business people and parents.

What an honor to work with children every day!

I love my job.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Give it Some OOMPH!

0 Comments


A LITTLE BIT OF OOMPH!

Hardback, 22 pages
ISBN: 9780761177449 (0761177442)
Published by Workman Publishing
$13.95(US)

"How do you make the ordinary extraordinary? With a little bit of oomph! An utterly inspiring and playful new book on creativity from Barney Saltzberg. A Little Bit of Oomph! teaches the invaluable lesson of throwing your heart into whatever you’re doing and trying just a little bit harder— because with a little extra effort and a lot of oomph, you can make anything beautiful."




For fans of The Dot, Press Here and Beautiful Oops,
A Little Bit of Oomph! will be another 

creative... 

interactive...

engaging... 

back-to-school picture book for grades K-5.

Available in paperback on September 24th!

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Math about Me... Updated Versions!

0 Comments

Soooo... I'm excited to share that my Math about Me printables have been downloaded 2,005 times on Teachers Pay Teachers this month. Thanks everyone! 




I've also received fabulous comments, which is half the fun.


A couple people mentioned that in Canada, they don't use the term "Zip Code".



Zip Code [noun] : a number that identifies each postal delivery area in the United States. 

postal code [noun] : in Canada, a mailing code of numbers and letters similar to the postcode in Britain.

 Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary, © 2010 K Dictionaries Ltd. 
Copyright 2005, 1997, 1991 by Random House, Inc. All rights reserved.


Aha! I learn something new every day!

Here are two new versions of this project. Both can be downloaded for free on Teachers Pay Teachers.


(with "My Postal Code") 

 ...and just for fun I made up this version that doesn't contain Zip or postal codes!

(with "My Bedtime")



  Thanks!

Sunday, August 18, 2013

TpT Sale!

0 Comments


Have you heard about the big Teachers Pay Teachers Back-to School Sale? It's going on now, so check it out!

Click the image above to visit my store. All of my lessons and printables are 20% off! I also have many free items like Math about Me and Comparing Numbers, Alligator Style! (my two most popular items), so take a look around.

I'll be adding new lessons throughout the year. If you would like to know when and what I'm posting, just follow me on TpT!

Thanks,

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Any Book

0 Comments


Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Blog Hop!

0 Comments


Just in time for Back-to School it's a linky party for upper elementary!
Check out these cool Pinterest boards for lessons, classroom ideas, and other nifty tips.


Friday, August 2, 2013

August Book Trailer: Oh No, George!

0 Comments


"George is a dog with all the best intentions. And his owner, Harry, has all the best hopes that George will be a well-behaved dog when he leaves him alone for the day. But when George spies a delicious cake sitting on the kitchen table, his resolve starts to waver. You see, George loves cake. . . . Uh-oh. What to do now? It’s so hard to be a good dog when there are cats to chase and flowers to dig up! What ever will Harry say when he gets back? Chris Haughton’s fetchingly funny story and vibrant, retro illustrations are sure to lure dog lovers of all ages — and anyone who has ever met a temptation too good to resist." - Random House



Oh George.